Residency Programs

Combined residency programs are one pathway that prepares an individual to provide integrated care. The first combined psychiatry residency programs were started in the late 1980s and, as of 2019, the number of programs has grown to well over 30 combined programs. There are combined Internal Medicine/Psychiatry, Family Medicine/Psychiatry, Psychiatry/Neurology, and Pediatrics/Psychiatry/Child & Adolescent Psychiatry programs across the US. New combined programs are being added annually. To search for the most updated list of combined residency programs, visit FREIDA https://freida.ama-assn.org/Freida/#/. You can also visit AAMC ERAS https://services.aamc.org/eras/erasstats/par/ and search under ACGME residency - September cycle for “Internal Medicine/Psychiatry”, “Pediatrics/Psychiatry/Child and Adolescent Psychiatry”, “Psychiatry/Family Practice”, and “Psychiatry/Neurology”.

See the maps below regarding the location, as of 2019, of combined programs nationwide.

In addition to combined residency programs, sequential training (which entails completing a residency program in full followed by completing a second residency program) is another way to become proficient and boarded in multiple specialties.

If you are a medical student who would like more information about combined residencies or sequential training, please join AMP as a member and request a mentor. We would love to pair you with a resident mentor who can discuss one-on-one with you regarding combined residencies and sequential training.

 

 

Internal Medicine/Psychiatry

Charleston Area Medical Center/West Virginia University

http://camc.wvu.edu/internal/psychiatry/index.htm Program Director: Hani Nazha, MD Email: hanazha@hsc.wvu.edu 3200 MacCorkle Ave, SE Charleston, WV 25304 Phone: 304-388-1020 Fax: 304-388-1041 Coordinator: Angela Webb, angela.webb@camc.org


Duke University Medical Center

http://education.psychiatry.duke.edu/training-programs/combined Program Director: Sarah Rivelli, MD Email: sarah.rivelli@duke.edu DUMC 3182 Durham, NC 27710 Phone: 919-684-2258 Fax: 919-681-6448 Coordinator: Lynsey Michnowicz, lynsey.michnowicz@duke.edu


Emory University

http://www.psychiatry.emory.edu/education/combined_residency/index.html Program Director: Kellie, Clearo, MD and Ray Young, MD Email: kclearo@emory.edu; ryoung2@emory.edu 49 Jesse Hill Jr Drive SE Faculty Office Building, 4th Floor Atlanta, GA 30303 Phone: 404-778-1624 Fax: 404-525-2957 Coordinator: Danielle Terrell, dnterre@emory.edu


Medical University of South Carolina

http://academicdepartments.musc.edu/psychiatry/education/res_fell/psy_med/psy_med.htm Program Director: Kelly Barth, MD 67 President St, MSC 861 Charleston, SC 29425 Phone: 843-792-0192 Fax: 843-792-6894 Program Manager: Liz Puca, pucalm@musc.edu


National Capital Consortium Program

Walter Reed National Military Medical Center This residency program is only offered to Army applicants http://www.wrnmmc.capmed.mil/ResearchEducation/GME/SitePages/InternalMedicine/Psychiatry/Residency.aspx Program Director: Vincent Capaldi, II, MD Email: vincent.f.capaldi.mil@mail.mil 8901 Wisconsin Ave Bethesda, MD 20889-5000 Phone: 301-400-1924 Fax: 301-400-2150 Coordinator: John Obie, John.L.Obie.civ@health.mil


Southern Illinois University

http://www.siumed.edu/medpsy/ Program Director: Andrew Varney, MD Email: avarney@siumed.edu 701 N 1st Street PO Box 19636 Springfield, IL 62794 Phone: 217-545-0193 Fax: 217-545-8156 Coordinator: Catherine Brower, cbrower@siumed.edu


Texas Tech University

http://elpaso.ttuhsc.edu/som/im-psych/ Program Director: Aghaegbulam Uga, MD, FWACP Email: aghaegbulam.h.uga@ttuhsc.edu 5001 El Paso Drive El Paso, TX 79905 Phone: 915-215-5880 Fax: 915-545-6442


Tulane University

http://tulane.edu/som/departments/psychiatry/education/CombinedMedPsyc/combined-med-psychiatry.cfm Program Director: James B. McConville, MD Email: jmcconvi@tulane.edu 1440 Canal Street New Orleans, LA 70112 Phone: 504-988-5246 Fax: 504-988-4270 Coordinator: Latonya Guice, lguice@tulane.edu


University of California Davis

http://www.ucdmc.ucdavis.edu/psychiatry/residency/medpsych/ Program Director: John Onate, MD and Shannon Suo, MD Email: jconate@ucdavis.edu or ssuo@ucdavis.edu 2230 Stockton Boulevard Sacramento, CA 95817 Phone: 916-734-2733 Fax: 916-734-3384 Coordinator: Morgan Luthi, mluthi@ucdavis.edu


University of Iowa

https://www.uihealthcare.org/medpsychresidency/ Program Director: Vicki Kijewski, MD Email: vicki-kijewski@uiowa.edu 200 Hawkins Dr E330-2 GH Iowa City, IA 52242 Phone: 319-356-1373 Fax: 319-356-2587 Coordinator: Stephanie Wainwright, stephanie-wainwright@uiowa.edu


University of Kansas

http://www.kumc.edu/school-of-medicine/psychiatry-and-behavioral-sciences/residency-training-programs/internal-medicinepsychiatry.html Program Director: Teresa Long, MD Email: tdlong@kumc.edu 3901 Rainbow Blvd, MS 4015 Kansas City, KS 66160 Phone: 913-588-6412 Fax: 913-588-6414 Coordinator: Stacy Buckley, sbuckley2@kumc.edu


University of Texas - Southwestern

http://www.utsouthwestern.edu/education/medical-school/departments/internal-medicine/education-training/im-psychiatry-residency/ Program Directors: Salahuddin Kazi, M.D. & Adam Brenner, M.D. Emails: Salahuddin.Kazi@utsouthwestern.edu & Adam.Brenner@utsouthwestern.edu 5323 Harry Hines Blvd. Dallas, TX 75390-9030 Phone: 214-648-9075 Fax: 214-648-9100 Coordinators: Barbara Dillard <Barbara.Dillard@utsouthwestern.edu> & Tameka Ellis <Tameka.Ellis@utsouthwestern.edu>


Vidant Medical Center/East Carolina University at the Brody School of Medicine

http://www.ecu.edu/cs-dhs/psychiatry/combinedRes.cfm?mod Program Director: Michael Lang, MD Email: langmi@ecu.edu 905 Johns Hopkins Dr Greenville, NC 27834 Phone: 252-744-1406 Fax: 252-744-2419 Coordinator: Scarlette Stovall, stovalls@ecu.edu

Family Medicine/Psychiatry

Boston Medical Center/Boston University School of Medicine

https://www.bumc.bu.edu/psychiatry/2017/08/23/family-medicine-psychiatry-combined-residency-program/ Program Director: Glennon O'Grady, MD 720 Harrison Avenue, Suite 915 Boston, MA 02118 Phone: 617-638-8541 Fax: 617-638-8535 Coordinator: Jennifer Sikov <jennifer.sikov@bmc.org>


University of California Davis

http://www.ucdmc.ucdavis.edu/psychiatry/residency/combfam/ Program Director: John Onate, MD and Shannon Suo, MD Email: jconate@ucdavis.edu or ssuo@ucdavis.edu 2230 Stockton Boulevard Sacramento, CA 95817 Phone: 916-734-2614 Fax: 916-734-3384


University of California San Diego

http://www.combinedresidency.org/ Program Director: Kurt Lindeman, MD 200 West Arbor Drive, Mail code 8809 San Diego, CA 92103-8809 Phone: 619-233-8500, ext 1402 Fax: 619-687-1067 Coordinator: Ruben Figueroa, combinedresidency@ucsd.edu


University of Cincinnati Medical Center

http://www.psychiatry.uc.edu/Education/residency/about/about.aspx Program Director: Lawson Wulsin, MD PO Box 670559 Cincinnati, OH 45267-0559 Phone: 513-558-5190 Fax: 513-558-3477 Coordinator: Susan Scholl, susan.scholl@uc.edu


University of Iowa

http://www.uihealthcare.org/fampsychresidency/ Program Director: Alison Lynch, MD Email: alison-lynch@uiowa.edu 200 Hawkins Dr Iowa City, IA 52242 Phone: 319-356-1373 Fax: 319-356-2587 Coordinator: Stephanie Wainwright, stephanie-wainwright@uiowa.edu


University of Pittsburgh (UPMC)

https://psychiatry.pitt.edu/education-training/residency-fellowships/residency-training/combined-family-medicine-psychiatry Program Director: Michael Travis, MD 3811 O'Hara St Pittsburgh, PA 15213 Phone: 412-246-5320 Fax: 412-246-5335 Coordinator: Kimberly Kirchner, kirchnerks@upmc.edu

Pediatric/Psychiatry/Child Psychiatry

Brown University

Rhode Island Hospital http://www.brown.edu/academics/medical/about/departments/psychiatry-and-human-behavior/training/child/triple-board-residency Program Director: Jeffrey Hunt, MD Email: jeffrey_hunt@brown.edu 593 Eddy St Providence, RI 02903 Phone: 401-444-3762 Fax: 401-444-8879 Coordinator: Marsha Spirito, mspirito@lifespan.org


Cincinnati Children’s Hospital/University of Cincinnati

http://www.cincinnatichildrens.org/education/clinical/specialty/triple/default/ Program Director: Carol Engel, MD Email: carol.engel@cchmc.org 3333 Burnet Avenue Cincinnati, OH 45229 Phone: 513-636-1837 Fax: 513-803-0571 Coordinator: Kristin Holhubner, kristin.holhubner@cchmc.org


Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

http://icahn.mssm.edu/departments-and-institutes/psychiatry/educational-programs/triple-board-residency Program Director: Barbara Coffey, MD; John O’Brien, MD Email: barbara.coffey@mssm.edu; john.o'brien@mssm.edu Box 1230, One Gustave L Levy Pl New York, NY 10029 Phone: 212-659-8838 Fax: 212-996-8931 Coordinator: Rebecca Segal, rebecca.segal@mssm.edu


Indiana University School of Medicine

http://psychiatry.medicine.iu.edu/education-residency-programs/triple-board-residency/ Program Director: David Dunn, MD 702 Barnhill Dr, Suite 4300 Indianapolis, IN 46202 Phone: 317-963-7307 Fax: 317-963-7325 Coordinator: Jeanette Souder, jtsouder@iu.edu


Tufts Medical Center

https://www.tuftsmedicalcenter.org/patient-care-services/Departments-and-Services/Psychiatry/Training-Education/Triple-Board-Training.aspx Program Director: John Sargent, MD Email: jsargent@tuftsmedicalcenter.org 800 Washington Street Boston, MA 02111 Phone: 617-636-1636 Fax: 617-636-1277 Coordinator: Mikayla Gregorio, mgregorio@tuftsmedicalcenter.org


Tulane University

http://tulane.edu/som/departments/pediatrics/residency-program/triple-board/triple-index.cfm Program Director: Brad McConville, MD Email: jmcconvi@tulane.edu Associate Program Director:  Ashley Ellison, MD Email:  aellison@tulane.edu 1430 Tulane Avenue #8055 New Orleans, LA 70112 Phone: 504-988-7829 Fax: 504-988-4264 Coordinator: Linzi Conners, lconners@tulane.edu


University of Hawaii

http://www.hawaiiresidency.org/psychiatry-residency/about-the-triple-board-program Program Director: Anthony Guerrero, MD Email: guerreroa@dop.hawaii.edu 1356 Lusitana St Honolulu, HI 96813 Phone: 808-586-7445 Fax: 808-586-2940 Coordinator: Dana Iida, diida@hawaiiresidency.org


University of Kentucky

http://psychiatry.med.uky.edu/triple-board-residency Program Director: Robert Simon, MD 245 Fountain Court Lexington, KY 40509 Phone: 859-323-6866 Fax: 859-323-4927 Coordinator: Crystal Stover, csmc226@email.uky.edu


University of Pittsburgh (UPMC)

https://psychiatry.pitt.edu/education-training/residency-fellowships/residency-training/child-adolescent-psychiatry-program Program Director: Sansea Jacobson, MD Email: jacobsonsl@upmc.edu 3811 O'Hara St Pittsburgh, PA 15213 Phone: 412-246-5320


University of Utah

http://medicine.utah.edu/psychiatry/triple-board-program/ Program Director: Douglas Gray, MD Email: douglas.gray@hsc.utah.edu 650 S Komas Dr Salt Lake City, UT 84108 Phone: 801-581-3936 Fax: 801-585-9096 Coordinator: Glenda Evans, glenda.evans@hsc.utah.edu

Neurology/Psychiatry

Brown University

http://med.brown.edu/neurology/neuropsychiatry-residency Program Director: W. Curt LaFrance, MD Email: william_lafrance_Jr@brown.edu 345 Blackstone Blvd Providence, RI 02906 Phone: 401-444-6183 Fax: 401-444-3298 Coordinator: Neelum Wong, nwong@lifespan.org


Medical University of South Carolina

http://academicdepartments.musc.edu/psychiatry/education/res_fell/psy_neur/psy_neur.htm Program Director: Edward Kantor, MD Email: kantor@musc.edu 67 President St, MSC 861 Charleston, SC 29425 Phone: 843-792-0192 Fax: 843-792-6894 Program Manager: Liz Puca, pucalm@musc.edu


New York University School of Medicine

http://www.med.nyu.edu/psych/education/residency-training/combined-psychiatryneurology-program Program Director: Siddhartha Nadkarni, MD Email: siddhartha.nadkarni@nyumc.org One Park Ave New York, NY 10016 Phone: 646-754-4838 Fax: 646-754-5431 Coordinator: Barbara Dartley, psychiatry.residency@nyumc.org


University of Massachusetts

http://www.umassmed.edu/neuropsychiatry/programs/residency/ Program Director: Sheldon Benjamin, MD Email: Sheldon.benjamin@umassmed.edu 55 Lake Ave N Worcester, MA 01655 Phone: 508-856-4087 Fax: 508-856-5000 Coordinator: Vickie White, vickie.white@umassmed.edu


University of Texas - Southwestern

http://www.utsouthwestern.edu/education/medical-school/departments/psychiatry/education-and-training/neuro-psych-residency/ Program Directors: Adam Brenner, M.D. & Steven Vernino, M.D., Ph.D. Emails: Adam.Brenner@utsouthwestern.edu & Steven.Vernino@utsouthwestern.edu 5323 Harry Hines Blvd. Dallas, TX 75390-9070 Phone: 214-648-7312 Fax: 214-648-7370 Coordinator: Tameka Ellis <Tameka.Ellis@utsouthwestern.edu>


 

Residency News